28
Apr
10

Blog 15- Advice

If I were to give advice to an incoming freshman about freshman year whether it be about living, working, or studying at Miami I would try and give them a good idea of what to expect. I would do my best to help them get into a good groove and be comfortable with the new style of living away from home.
When it comes to living at Miami, obviously everyone is going to be nervous in some sort of way. Whether the person is nervous to meet their new roommate or even to live on their own, I would tell them that there is nothing to worry about. I would tell them “yeah, it may be strange to leave your home, but it’s what you make of it”. Also that these ARE the happiest times of your life and if you worry about it and stress about living away it will only get worse. Be open to change.
On working at Miami, I would tell them if they are going to work, they need to find a place that is pretty easy and flexible on the hours. This will make it easier to make money while maintaining your GPA. Also choose something that won’t be something you dread going to. Life after college is where that comes in.
And finally, studying. I would tell an incoming freshman that you need to get into a groove on how you study early. Also I would tell them what my high school senior English teacher told me, “Get ahead on your GPA and then you will be able to relax later”. “Your first year is where your GPA will start and end”. Without pressure you need to get ahead and also take it serious don’t go crazy and party every night. You have four YEARS to do that.


0 Responses to “Blog 15- Advice”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


April 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930