22
Apr
10

Circle Game-Persepolis

I plan on looking at the graphic design Satrapi uses where she makes the background full of squiggly lines. It draws the reader’s attention and also causes the reader to see that Satrapi is, in a way, making the point that at this point there is a change. Whether this change is in the character or in the setting/point of the novel. Also it provides the reader with a sense of mysticism or an escape from reality into a dream world whether it is a dream or a magic carpet ride representing the families vacation. I also plan on looking at how Satrapi puts these squiggles into Marji’s uncles hair. I don’t know exactly how I plan on working that in or if it’s significant however for me it seems like the fact his hair is that different it causes him to be a key figure and a “hero” for Marji.

Rough-Thesis: In Satrapi’s graphic novel, Persepolis, the use of the graphic image of squiggly lines causes the reader to better understand the transformation of character and the importance of various scenes throughout the novel.

Exact Examples
-carpet ride
-uncles hair
-64, 60, 77, 30, 22

PURPOSE-The purpose for my paper is to add another level to this novel based on how I perceive the novel to mean. Whether my view is correct or not, the purpose for my literary analysis is to provide another look into what a seemingly simple graphic image means or even could mean.


0 Responses to “Circle Game-Persepolis”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


April 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930